Bakeworks: Gluten-Free Glossary

Gluten Free Products NZ
This gluten-free glossary has a number of words that are likely to pop up along your gluten-free journey – whether that be eating, cooking or purchasing gluten-free products.

Activated Seeds – seeds that have been soaked to initiate the germination or sprouting process. Allows us to ensure an ethical and top-quality product is created at all stages of production.

Amaranth – a seed that is known to be an exceptional source of nutrition and protein. It is full of antioxidants, iron, calcium, fibre and a whole range of healthy elements. Used

Barley - one of grains that possess gluten. Mostly used in brewing, but can also be found in soup, stews and soups.

Bulgur – a form of whole wheat that undergoes reprocessing and resizing. Contains gluten.

Celiac Disease - the autoimmune disorder that affects 1 in 100 people, causing a toxic reaction to gluten.

Cereal – encompasses any edible seed from the grass family. Although many cereals are safe, caution should be taken due to specific ingredient use and contamination possibility.

Chicken Broth – Commonly used to prepare a variety of dishes, particularly soup and rice meals. In regard to content of gluten – this varies from brand to brand. Read labels with care to ensure you purchase trusting brands that are fully gluten-free.

Cross-Contamination - when there is unwilling exposure of a certain product with another one, in this case, gluten. Cross-contamination must be considered with regards to cooking oils, production methods and any other process where direct caution is not specifically stated.

Durum – mainly used in pasta, durum has high gluten content. Also known as emmer.

Flaxseed – as the richest vegetable source of Omega-3, flaxseed is has positive effects in combatting heart disease and cancer. This is a commonly integrated into gluten-free diets.

Flour - one of the most common places wherein gluten is found, however, not all flour has gluten.

Examples of Gluten-Free flours are:

Arrowroot Flour - created from the roots of a tropical tuber, it is often used in sauces, puddings and baking. Available at most supermarkets

Buckwheat Flour - from the herb family, buckwheat seeds are ground into a flour that’s typically used in pancakes

Coconut Flour - a soft flour, it is rich in protein, fibre and fat. It has only been popularised relatively recently and can be purchased at most health food stores

Cornmeal - with a range of varying textures, cornmeal is a flour that is used for a number of different dishes

Fava Bean Flour - a fine flour often used for gluten-free cooking and baking.

Millet Flour - a gluten-free flour, that is a high source of protein, amino acids and fibre.

Potato Flour although most commonly used for thickening, this flour is also used in baking

Rice Flour this is one of the most used replacements of wheat flour, used for things such as noodles and pancakes

Sorghum Flour - a great gluten-free flour alternative that has been used for thousands of years, it is a great source of fibre

Sweet Rice Flour - ground from glutinous rice (sticky rice)

Tapioca Flour - a variety of uses in baking, this gluten-free flour is made from the starch extracted from the cassava plant.

Fu – popular in Asian countries, Fu is a dried form of gluten typically made from wheat.

Gelatin – a common ingredient in gluten-free cooking, it assists in reducing crumbling when baking.

Gluten - the name of the proteins in certain grains. It is poorly digested and affects day-to-day processes in all populations, but is particularly harmful to people with Celiac Disease and other related disorders. Found in wheat, rye, barley and triticale.

Gluten Peptieds – smaller units of proteins from barley, rye, wheat and oats.

Glutenin – Found in the gluten of wheat

Guar Gum (a.k.a. guaran) - ground from guar beans and is used to thicken, bind or improve the texture of a range of gluten-free food products

Modified Starch – certain types can be a wheat product and so should certain products should be handled with caution – often written on labels.

Non-celiac gluten sensitivity – a condition where individuals face symptoms similar to those associated with celiac. Sometimes also referred to as ‘gluten sensitivity’.

Nuts – should be handled with caution as processing agents may often use wheat when roasted. Tree nuts and peanuts, however do not contain gluten in their natural state.

Noodles – often made from wheat with high levels of gluten, although there certainly a number of gluten-free options.

Oats - in their natural form, oats don’t contain gluten, however it is exposure to wheats is likely during production. A number of  gluten-free individuals tend to react negatively to oats and so cautionary action should be taken.

Quinoa – a seed commonly grown in South America, quinoa has a number of great minerals and vitamins. Usually gluten-free, however may risk cross-contamination with certain providers.

Rye – another gluten grain that is mostly used for making bread and whiskey.

Skim Milk Powder – a popular ingredient for gluten-free diets, skim milk powder helps bread rise and stay moist, while also providing calcium and protein.

Starch – a substance contained in many foods and usually with gluten, although some gluten-free modified alternate options are available.

The most common gluten-free options are:

Tapioca Starch -  derived from the cassava plant starch (tapioca flour is taken from the root). 

Potato Starch often used as a thickener and made from raw potatoes.

Sprouting – the process we undergo in creating our gluten-free products, right from the seed! Read more here.

Triticale – a hybrid of rye and wheat, triticale contains high levels of gluten and so must be avoided in a gluten-free diet.

Wheat – the most common of the gluten grains and the second highest produced food worldwide, wheat can be found in a number of different products. While bread, pasta, cake and cookies are the most obvious products to use wheat, it can also be found in noodles, ice-cream, canned-soups, candy and even playdough.

Xanthan gum – produced by fermenting a particular strain of bacteria and processing it. Used in products like ice-cream to provide a smoother feeling in the mouth.

Yeast – yeast is frequently used in both baking and brewing. The distinction between gluten-free ones and others can be difficult to determine. Typically yeast is gluten-free, except for brewer’s yeast. Handle such foods with caution and use brands you trust.

With a greater understanding of the key terms to do with a Gluten-Free lifestyle, why not give it a go? Check out our selection of tasty alternatives to traditionally gluten-based products!   


Gluten Free Product and glossary

Close (esc)

Hot Cross Bun Delivery

Any Hot Cross Buns ordered now will be delivered after Easter!

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.


Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now